top of page
  • Dr. Rye

An Interview with Chris Daughtry of "Daughtry"

As I sat at an empty table, microphones set up, my producer in the corner, waiting for our guest to arrive, I couldn't help but feel a profound sense of anxiety. Soon I would be joined by one of the greatest musical talents of the 2000s in my humble home studio. Sure, I've interviewed stellar home cooks, people who wear dragon jean jackets, a bookstore owner claiming to sell "Of Mice and Men" in his shop, and at least a half dozen more. But this was Chris Freakin' Daughtry. In case you need a refresher, here's the smash hit "Long Live Rock and Roll," which is probably on one of their albums.



Listen to that beat! I personally didn't listen to more than the intro, but hundreds of his fans have made it into the latter portion of this hit and I can certainly acknowledge that! Now that his people have arrived, with an entourage that would put the fellas from the actual show Entourage into an epileptic rage, I swallow my nerves down to the floor and push forward which could be a defining moment for #BodybyBourbon as a media giant. Below is our interview, please hold for applause until the very end.


Dr. Rye: Chris! Hi.


Chris Daughtry: Hi.


Chris's inherently shy nature causes him to stare at the floor and only peek up at me when he says "hi." My heart is beating out of my chest at the presence this star has brought to my studio.


DR: Do you like to rock n' roll?


CD: Kinda.


Chris pinches his legs together and rubs his palms nervously. This clearly is a star used to the limelight and dozens of screaming fans... have I insulted him bringing him to my humble home studio?


DR: I'd like to ask you about your song called "Home." What exactly was that song about?


CD: Going back to my house.


Now we're cooking with gasoline. If you know Daughtry as I do, "Home" is one of their most controversial songs that has been debated in the music industry for years. I've had Chris in my studio for 10 minutes at this point and I already have a gem to make headlines. I push forward.


DR: Incredible, Chris. Thank you for sharing.


At this point I reach for his hand, which he coyly pulls back, face flushed with redness.


DR: Your fans have always wondered, where did the band name come from?


CD: It's my name.


I nearly vomit on the microphone in front of me with excitement as I know I've struck industry gold. From here on it's just a coasting mission, don't say anything too dumb and maybe he'll even stick around for lunch.


DR: Chris, when is lunchtime for you, and what do you normally get to eat?


CD: I eat at noon and like peanut butter sandwiches.


DR: Would you describe this interview like you would one of your songs by saying, "It's Not Over"?


CD: I have to go eat.


 

With that, his people packed up their things and I politely showed them the door. It's not every day you get to brush arms with greatness, but now that we've uncovered a few of the unknown facts of this century's most notorious rock bands, I'd say #BBB is beginning to solidify its place on the map.


Have a favorite Daughtry tune? Sound off in the comments below! I'll leave you with one more today, one I'm jamming to right now in the empty studio where Chris just sat. Cheers everyone.




 

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page