top of page
  • Dr. Rye

When Should I Drink My Evan Williams 12-Year?

When I visited the bourbon trail last year, I was graced by the Bourbon Gods and given the opportunity to purchase Evan Williams 12-Year Bourbon. For those of you that think "Hmmm... Evan Williams? Not that exciting of a pick up there, Doctor," well you'd be wrong you fool. This particular bourbon is the #1 thing I'd grab if my beautiful home were set ablaze; it's one of my most prized possessions. I got it for a steal at the distillery and now it's on the open market for around $450, not to brag. Check her out, she's so pretty...



The way I see it, I have 3 viable options of when to finally open this sucker up. I'm not one of those guys who likes to keep things lying around unopened just because they are special, I like to engage with them and enjoy them as much as I possibly can. The fact I've been able to restrain myself for this long is a miracle in its own right, but it's time to decide once and for all when to crack open my baby and sip on her sweet, sweet nectar. Here are my choices:


#1: My Wedding Day


It certainly wouldn't be a #BodybyBourbon wedding without some of America's finest bourbon to celebrate the union of me and my sweet little thang. It'd be a classy way to enter into matrimony and add to a night that is supposed to be one of your greatest. Granted, I'd have to share with groomsmen, but what's the fun in drinking a whole bottle of premium liquid like this yourself? Actually, that doesn't sound to bad...


#2: The Birth of My Son


I can see it now, the doctors urging my wife to push, sounds of extreme agony and anticipation, new life about to enter the world. And there I am, snifter in hand drinking Evan Williams as I meet the human being with half my genetics that may be able to beat me up one day. Hell, maybe we could even name him after the bourbon! That'd be something.


#3: On My Death Bed


Gotta respect the long-play with option #3. I could literally just keep this bottle my entire life, go through the fame and fortune that #BBB brings me, see my kids grow up and leave and eventually have kids of their own, fall in love deeper and deeper with my wife. Sitting on the front porch in our rocking chairs holding hands, the bottle of #EvanWilliams12Year resting in the middle of us. Finally, on the day to end all days, I crack it open and take a sip. The perfect punctuation on a life well lived.


 

When do you think I should drink my prized possession? I honestly don't know yet, so let me know in the comments or the contact us page. Maybe you could even persuade me to share some, but that's a bet I wouldn't make.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page