top of page
  • Dr. Rye

Pro Tip: Bourbon Lemonades

Yeah I got a tip for you. You thought this site was just going to be angry ramblings and a somewhat confused fashion sense. Well, I'm here to tell you something today, my #BBB neighbor. This is a short and sweet, simple, idiot proof way to enjoy your bourbon in a simple cocktail that holds up year round. You might recognize one of the players here in our Top 5 Bourbons Under $30 article. So not only did I introduce you to one of the best bargains of your life, I will explicitly show you how to take your lemons (?) and make bourbon lemonade. Let's get to it.


Step 1: Choose Your Lemonade


I'll keep it to the point here: don't use real lemonade. The confectionary nature of the instant lemonades vibe so much more with the bite of the bourbon. Also, personal opinion, I don't like pulp where I have bourbon. Crystal Light will work just fine here, I also got the 12 oz pouches by accident and just mix in a shit load of them into a pitcher and you'll be fine. That takes us to...


Step 2: Mix Up That Lemonade!


You dog! You little mixing dog! I know you know how to mix it, my man. Get the coolest water you can and dump in your mix and, buddy, you're halfway there. Give yourself a high five, you've earned it!


Step 3: Measure Out Your Bourbon


You better believe me when I say I probably put in more per drink than you'd get at your local mixology bar. I get my #BuffaloTrace jigger and dump in 2 bountiful shots of... drum roll please....

Heaven Hill Quality House Bourbon! Okay, so it's not exactly what was on the list... this is actually cheaper. I get it for $17.99 a handle. Not a bottle. A handle. So yeah, get off your high horse, it's not great bourbon. You might choke on it straight but trust me, you'd think it's an Elijah Craig Single Barrel in this drink if you do exactly what I say!


Step 4: Choose Your Glassware


I know what you're thinking. It's probably something along the lines of "oh bro I got the dopest snifter for this." No, you don't. The goofier the better. You're going to be enjoying one of the most delicious bourbon cocktails known to man that I'm giving to you, with budget in mind. Celebrate that. I personally use a cup set I got from a game of White Elephant a few Christmases ago. My grandma brought them, they are translucent green in color and have drawings of various succulents on it. Perfect. Make your glass your own and use the same ones every. single. time.


Step 5: Create Your Baby


It's basically poetry at this point. First 3 large cubes of ice. Save your massive giant cube things for straight bourbon, these can be right out of the ice machine. Next, your two shots of Heaven Hill. Then, pour over your lemonade until the cup is full. Didn't I tell you that'd be easy? My cups are fat and wide so I don't even need to stir, but stir if you must. Now, in under 5 minutes, you've created a cocktail that will be the star of any party you go to, or the perfect present to yourself for a long day of working from home. Cheers.


Tell me your best drink in the comments below! If it beats my bourbon lemonade, I promise I'll finish an entire helping of your favorite.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page